Recent Awards

Dr. William Dauer recently published an article titled "TorsinA hypofunction causes abnormal twisting movements and sensorimotor curcuit neurodegeneration". Read the full article  below.

Dr. Sami Barmada was featured in a Michigan Today article highlighting his research on autophagy, a cell-cleaning process and how it is related to improved cell survival. 

Read the full article here:

Joseph (Joe) Knoedler received a Presidential Poster Competition Award from the Endocrine Society for his poster titled "Identification of transcriptional...

Read More

Yasuhiro (Yoshi) Kyono received an Outstanding Abstract Award from the Endocrine Society for his abstract titled "...

Read More

Matt Gaidica, a current student in the Neuroscience Graduate Program at the University of Michigan recently wrote Left: A History of the Hemispheres....

Read More

Kenichi Iwasaki was awarded a Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship at the University of Michigan on March 13, 2014.

Both Dr. Lydic and Dr. Baghdoyan have accepted joint appointments in the Departments of Psychology and Anesthesiology at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. They will be co-directing anesthesiology research and research at University of...

Read More

Congratulations to Susan Shore, Ph.D., who was recently published in the Journal of Neuroscience. Below is a link to an article written about her lab's latest discovery.

Congratulations to Elyse Aurbach for receiving first place in the 3 Minute Thesis Competition (3MT). It is a competition held at Rackham as part of the Professional Development Core Skills Series.

Congratulations to Katie Prater for receiving this award from Felicia Duke, Unit for Laboratory Animal Medicine, for her outstanding input in an ethics discussion and perspective on animal research. The award recognizes her for "demonstrating...

Read More

The first two patients of the ALS stem trial received injections.

Eva L. Feldman, M.D., Ph.D., is a U-M Medical School professor and director of the A. Alfred Taubman Institute. She is the principal investigator of this trial and is a...

Read More

Congratulations to Graham Atkin (student) for winning the Excellence in Teaching and Service award from the UMMS 2013 Graduate Student Awards. Graham Atkin won this award because of his effectiveness and...

Read More

Congratulations to Elyse Aurbach and Katie Prater on winning the Community Choice Award for the NSF Innovation in Graduate Education Idea Challenge!  Their proposal focuses on the enhancement of lay-audience communication.  For additional...

Read More

Congratulations to Emma Jecrois, Kyle Ketchesin, Veronica Rios and James Roach for receiving NSF awards!

Congratulations to Christopher Fitzpatrick for receiving this fellowship!

Congratulations to Biswa Ramani for receiving an individual NRSA entitled, "Toward understanding disease pathogenesis in the polyglutamine disorder Spinocerebellar Ataxia type 3". 

Congratulations to Alison Althaus on receiving a position on the Center for Organogenesis training grant!

 Congratulations to Anne Berry and Amber McCartney for receiving prestigious Rackham Predoctoral Fellowships for support towards completion of their remarkable PhD studies! This support is generally provided to students completing dissertation...

Read More

Congratulations to Dr. Lori Isom on receipt of the 2013 Rackham Distinguished Mentor Award!  Award recipients have been selected by their commitment to fostering growth of doctoral students at the highest level.  


Read More

Brad Carter (NGP Student, Thompson Lab) has been selected as a junior fellow to the Provost’s Learning Analytics Task Force.  ...

Read More

Overactive Brain Keeps Teens with Autism from Adjusting to Social Situations

Check out the following link to read the whole article titled



Read More

The Neuroscience Graduate Program has been awarded a Stage I grant from the Gilbert Whitaker Fund for the Improvement of Teaching in support of our curriculum reform efforts entitled "Neuroscience Graduate Program Curriculum: From Fundamental...

Read More

Congratulations to the following students who have recently been awarded Rackham Travel Grants: Aneesha Badrinarayan, Anne Berry, Ania Dabrowski, Chris Fitzpatrick, Megan Greenwald-Yarnell, DiJon Hill, Lauren Kett, Biswa Ramani, Veronica Rios,...

Read More

Congratulations to Megan Greenwald-Yarnell on her recent awards! Click here to learn more about the Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship.

Follow Us



Neuroscience Graduate Program
4137 Undergraduate Science Building (USB)
204 Washtenaw Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2215


Copyright © 2014. University of Michigan Neuroscience Graduate Program.
Michigan Web Development by Boxcar Studio

Back to Top